January 10, 2021

NOTES FROM THE DIRECTORS


WELCOME BACK!

Let’s keep up the good work as we start on the new year!

Remember, hand washing, social distance and masks - it all makes a difference!


  • We will have an update from WTSBOA in the newsletter next week about how auditions will work.

  • There will be a big announcement next week about our plans for a Spring Wind Ensemble/ Symphonic Band starting in February.

2021-22 Houston Band Board

We have made it half-way through the school year, so now it’s time to plan for next year! We realize that most freshmen and new member parents have not been able to experience all the fun/work that the Houston Band Board does during a regular year. But we want you to join us for next year! There are plenty of senior parents rolling off the board and we need your help.


Look through the positions list below and email Matt Taylor matthew.taylor@gmsdk12.org if there is anything you are interested in. We have job descriptions for each one and by getting involved now, we can pair you with the person leaving the position for training. We are hopeful that next year brings back Band Camp, Competitions, football Friday nights, Rockathon, Banquets and Concerts. This means we need to put together an enthusiastic board to get the job done. Don’t be shy, if you want to reach out to the current member and talk to them, their contact information is below as well. COME GET INVOLVED!


Band Booster Board

President, Vice President, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Secretary, Fundraising, Uniforms, Hospitality, Color Guard, Pit Crew, Drumline


We also have committee positions without monthly meeting obligations including, Uniforms, Fundraising, Hospitality, Senior Recognition, All West Coordinator and Pit Crew

KROGER REWARDS

Calling all Kroger Shoppers, What an easy way to support the band!! Pick Houston High School Band Boosters (BW921) as your appointed Community Partner to receive Kroger Community Rewards. THE Houston Band receives a small percentage of money just by doing your regular family shopping at Kroger! This does not impact your Kroger Fuel Points earned on purchases.

IMPORTANT DATES

Always stay up to date through the master calendar at

https://www.thehoustonband.com/calendar

If you have any questions, please reach out to the Directors

Matt Taylor matthew.taylor@gmsdk12.org John Hagan john.hagan@gmsdk12.org Band Booster Board President Polly Cotten cotten17@aol.com Vice President Cheryl Morton cdasmorton@me.com Treasurer Holly Clark hollyclark164@yahoo.com houstonbandtreasurer@gmail.com Secretary Kelly Flaherty kellyflaherty42@gmail.com thehoustonbandgtwn@gmail.com Assistant Treasurer Molly Opferman opferman@gmail.com Fundraising Amy Burgess burgess3@gmail.com Uniforms Marla Reiser marlareiser@hotmail.com

AshleyBorgsmiller Ash1jeff@yahoo.com Hospitality Amy Eoff amyeoff@gmail.com

Erin Oldershaw ekheff@yahoo.com

Color Guard Deb Foyle foyledagain@comcast.net

Pit Crew Jeff Borgsmiller JeffBorgsmiller@yahoo.com

Trafford Seymour TraffordSeymour@gmail.com

Drumline Jasen Herrington jherrington@shoemakerfinancial.com

Houston High School | 9755 Wolf River Blvd, Germantown, TN 38139 | Phone: 901-756-2370 | Fax: 901-756-2377

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

©2020 by Sparrow Web